Submitting Coins — Welcome to the CAC Educational Forum

Submitting Coins

I have been collecting coins and some paper money for over 30 years. But I became a CAC member two years ago. This is either for CAC to answer or for the other members of this new forum. How do you choose what coins to send to be evaluated? I have sent three different submissions with nine to tweleve coins in each. Only to have all or most of them not accepted.

So, I'm trying to not to waste their time or mine by getting everything all packaged up and sent. Do we submit, by grade, by rarity or by year and mint mark? The one that really confused me was my 1855-S three dollar gold piece. Only about 6000 were minted, so I sent it and it was rejected, (not accepted)

I'm just trying to get an idea of what I shoud be sending. Thanks for your time and good luck to all of us using this new forum.

Comments

• Ideally, you wouldn’t submit the coins based upon any of those considerations.That’s because they don’t have anything to do with whether the coins are solid for their assigned grades. My opinion is that you should try to find someone knowledgeable about grading, who can screen your coins, in order to determine whether they merit submission to CAC.